Darren Aronofsky’s Noah Gets A Trailer


Paramount has released the first trailer for the epic biblical tale Noah. Darren Aronofsky co-wrote and directed the film which stars Russell Crowe, Jennifer Connelly, Ray Winstone, Emma Watson, Logan Lerman and Anthony Hopkins. In the movie, Crowe plays the man chosen by God to complete a great task before an apocalyptic flood destroys the world.

I love Darren Aronofsky and I think he’s made some truly great movies in his career so I’ll always be willing to see a new Aronofsky movie. The trailer for his latest film however doesn’t exactly do much to sell me on the movie. The biggest problem I have with it is the abundance of CGI that makes this look like a summer blockbuster version of the Noah’s Ark story. It has a very generic-movie-trailer-template feel to it and that would have me worried if it wasn’t an Aronofsky movie.

I know that Paramount wants a commercial tentpole movie, and Aronofsky wants to ensure the movie’s success as well, and that is probably why we’re seeing a trailer that looks like it was made to sell the movie to the widest possible audience. I just hope that all the rumblings of Paramount and Aronofsky having disputes over final cut due to Paramount not wanting to risk loss of money from the Christian audience with Aronofsky’s savage and fantastical take on the story doesn’t result in Paramount cowering away from the director’s vision. It’s a real possibility as Paramount is running a business and they want a profitable product, that’s perfectly understandable. I just hope they have the balls to support Aronofsky and his vision because his cut of the movie is ultimately what I want to see. I’ll be seeing this movie, not based on how it’s sold, but because I want to see the latest work from a filmmaker that I have a lot of respect for.

Noah hits theaters on March 28, 2014.

by Ben McBride

Follow Ben on @monsterpopcorn

Noah movie poster

Leave a Reply

