31 Days of ’80s Horror – Sleepaway Camp

31 Days of Horror Day 28 banner

Welcome to 31 Days of ’80s Horror boys and ghouls! Each day in October I’ll be posting about a horror film from the 1980s, some of which you may have heard of, others may be a little more obscure. This is the month to celebrate all things spooky so I wanted to present some films from my favorite era of the horror genre. I hope you enjoy the column and discover some new ’80s horror flicks to watch, or rewatch, whatever the case may be. I know I’ll be checking out some of these ghastly tales myself since I’ve come across a few that even I’ve never heard of! So on with the horror! On with the terror! On with the ’80s!

Sleepaway Camp movie poster

Sleepaway Camp

Welcome to Camp Arawak, where teenage boys and girls learn to experience the joys of nature, as well as each other. But when these happy campers begin to die in a series of horrible “accidents,” they discover that someone, or something, has turned their summer of fun into a vacation to dismember. Has a dark secret returned from the camp’s past… or will an unspeakable horror end the season forever?

Sleepaway Camp would be a fairly forgettable slasher film if it wasn’t for the fact that it is bug-nuts insane! There are bits of weird dialogue, acting and character actions that will have you feeling dumbfounded (but in a good way). You’ll be astonished by the truly shocking clothing attire on display, especially with the men, who seem to really enjoy super short shorts and mid-riff cut shirts. You’ll be shocked by the twist ending that will make your brain implode. It literally may be one of the weirdest twists in a slasher movie I’ve ever seen. I won’t spoil the end for those of you who haven’t seen it but I’d say watch it with a bunch of people who have never seen it and then watch the jaws hit the floor and exclamations of “what the f$*@!” cry out. Sleepaway Camp has gained a cult following over the years and I can certainly see why, it’s a bizarre piece of B-movie slasher cinema and is definitely worth the watch if you like so-bad-it’s-good or weird movies.

How to watch Sleepaway Camp

Sleepaway Camp looks like it’s out of print currently but I was able to rent the movie on DVD through Netflix’s disc rental service.

Trailer

To see the other entries in the 31 Days of ’80s Horror column, click here!

by Ben McBride

Follow Ben on @monsterpopcorn

One thought on “31 Days of ’80s Horror – Sleepaway Camp

  1. As you know I’m a HUGE fan. I have the Survival Kit, which contains all 3 films and the unreleased portion of the first version of #4. It’s a shame the movie’s out of print…bc it really is batshit crazy. I just love the eerie tone of the film – and it starts right from the title scene….the score is pretty solid too. It’s equal parts laughable and creepy and that = the perfect 80’s slasher, in my opinion!

    Like

Leave a Reply

