The Blu-ray Crypt – Sept. 3

Help support Monster Popcorn! If you click on the Blu-ray cover images or links provided to Amazon and make a purchase, Monster Popcorn gets a (very small) referral fee! A lot of hard work goes into the site and I’d certainly appreciate your support by clicking through the links provided if you plan on ordering one of the weekly Blu-ray new releases. Every little bit helps! Now onto this week’s new releases!

Now You See Me blu art

Now You See Me

I was actually surprised by how entertained I was by Now You See Me. The plot is paper thin and it doesn’t hold up to much scrutiny but the movie still manages to make for a fun two hours. The cast is lively and amusing and the movie serves as a pretty entertaining distraction. The Blu-ray release of Now You See Me features an extended edition that is nearly ten minutes longer than the theatrical version. With an excellent audio commentary from director Louis Leterrier, a few supplemental features and a very solid video transfer, Now You See Me is definitely an easy rental recommendation and for the fans, a worthy purchase.

The Lords of Salem blu art

The Lords of Salem

I walked out of Rob Zombie’s latest directorial effort not really knowing how I felt about the movie. After discussing it with others, I think I liked what Zombie was doing with the film but it might require another viewing or two before I feel like I can solidify my opinion on the movie. It’s definitely his weirdest film to date, that’s for sure. The Lords of Salem tells the tale of Heidi, a radio station DJ living in Salem, Massachusetts, who receives a strange wooden box containing a record, a “gift from the Lords.” Heidi listens, and the bizarre sounds within the grooves immediately trigger flashbacks of the town’s violent past. Is Heidi going mad, or are the “Lords of Salem” returning for revenge on modern-day Salem?

Creepshow 2 blu art

Creepshow 2

While Creepshow 2 isn’t quite up to par with the original Creepshow, it’s still a fun entry into the horror anthology genre. Plus, it’s fun seeing special make-up effects guru Tom Savini ham it up as the host, the Creeper! Unlike the original film, which featured five tales of horror, this sequel sports three stories to terrify you! I don’t find any of the three tales to be actually scary myself but I do enjoy them in a Tales from the Crypt kind of way. The Blu-ray doesn’t come with any special features but I think fans are going to want this regardless, I’ve already ordered my copy.

Its Always Sunny Season 8 blu art

It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia: The Complete Season Eight

I haven’t seen this season yet since It’s Always Sunny is a show I don’t watch live and end up just buying each new season when it’s released on DVD/Blu-ray and burn through all the episodes in a matter of days. It may be a little while before I get around to watching this since I have to prioritize my Blu-ray purchasing but I’m really looking forward to seeing the hilarious depravity that I’m sure the eighth season holds. I love the cover art for this release, it’s hilariously creepy.

Sharknado blu art

Sharknado

I’ve always been a fan of so-bad-its-good type movies but I’ve never really jumped on the SyFy originals bandwagon. I find them to be more boring than entertaining and are better served as in-the-background entertainment. Sharknado is ultimately no different. There were a few things that I did enjoy but with a title that promises B-movie insanity, I don’t think the movie lived up to its name. Sure, there were moments of Tara Reid trying to act that were amusing but, more often than not, Sharknado failed to consistently entertain. I know Syfy original movies have their share of fans and I think Sharknado may actually be one of the best SyFy movies made by the cable network but it’s just not for me. As I’m writing this, 2-Headed Shark Attack is playing in the background on the SyFy channel and it just reinforces the fact that I think Sharknado (and other SyFy originals) will more than likely remain on the TV and not in my Blu-ray collection.

Cockneys vs Zombies blu art

Cockneys vs. Zombies

When some down-on-their-luck old timers are at risk of losing their home to developers, a group of young, inept criminals decide to take matters into their own hands. The only thing standing in their way? A zombie outbreak in London! Now, it’s up to a bunch of east-enders to fight their way out of the zombie-infested city, lead by an unlikely gang of amateur bank robbers and foul-mouthed, plucky pensioners. This new release from Scream Factory looks like a bit of fun. I was uncertain how I felt about yet another zombie movie but after watching the trailer, it looks like this one might be worth a watch.

The Iceman blu art

The Iceman

Inspired by actual events, The Iceman follows notorious contract killer Richard Kuklinski from his early days in the mob until his arrest for the murder of more than 100 men. Appearing to be living the American dream as a devoted husband and father; in reality Kuklinski was a ruthless killer-for-hire. When finally arrested in 1986, neither his wife nor daughters had any clue about his real profession. Michael Shannon, Winona Ryder, Ray Liotta, James Franco and Chris Evans round out this great cast and I’ve heard nothing but positive things about Shannon’s turn as the titular contract killer.

Mystery Science Theater 3000 The Movie blu art

Mystery Science Theater 3000: The Movie

Shout! Factory is releasing the movie version of the beloved cult TV show, Mystery Science Theater 3000, in a Collector’s Edition Blu-ray/DVD combo pack. Mike Nelson and his robotic crew poke fun at 1955’s This Island Earth, which is actually kind of a fun movie on its own terms, and when the MST3K commentary runs over the movie, hilariousness is abound. Shout!’s Blu-ray features reversible cover art as well as a few making-of featurettes, some deleted scenes and the original theatrical trailer. I’m pretty happy that Shout! is releasing this on Blu-ray and I can’t wait to see Metaluna in high-definition!

More titles released today:

The Office: Season Nine

Person of Interest: The Complete Second Season

The Vampire Diaries: The Complete Fourth Season

Arthur Newman

The Theater Bizarre

Revolution: The Complete First Season

Haven: The Complete Third Season

Spartacus: War of the Damned – The Complete Third Season

Da Vinci’s Demons: The Complete First Season

Empire State

The English Teacher

Slightly Single in L.A.

Ace Ventura: Pet Detective

Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls

The Fugitive

Idle Hands

Five Dolls for an August Moon

Hells Angels on Wheels

The Ten Commandments: Ultimate Collector’s Edition

The Smashing Pumpkins: Oceania 3D in NYC

Mulan: Rise of a Warrior

Marnie

by Ben McBride

Follow Ben on Twitter @monsterpopcorn

Leave a Reply

