Chucky is Back! The Trailer for Curse of Chucky is Now Online!


Everyone’s favorite murderer-possessed doll is back to “ade due damballa” another innocent soul!

I LOVE Child’s Play.  It’s one of my favorite late 80’s horror movies featuring the best foul-mouthed horror icon under 3 feet.  I also like Child’s Play 2 and even Child’s Play 3 (despite it being a ridiculous movie) but it’s at Bride of Chucky where I start to lose interest in the franchise.  Admittedly, I haven’t seen Bride of Chucky in quite some time so a rewatch may be in order to really get how I feel towards it but Seed of Chucky was just plain awful.  I remember seeing it in the theater and was so bored with it that I kept looking at the time during the movie to see when it would end.

I like that Curse of Chucky is aiming to return the series to its more scary roots and dropping the cheesy shtick that was employed in the previous two (yes, I know there has always been a bit of cheese to the whole series but there was something still frightening about Chucky through the first three movies, for me anyway).  I just wish we were getting Chucky’s return in theaters instead of straight-to-DVD/Blu-ray/VOD.

I would say that creator Don Mancini’s involvement as director is a good omen with this new film except that he did direct the worst film in the franchise (to give him credit though, he has written all the films in the Child’s Play franchise, so he’s done more good than bad).  I remain optimistic about the movie as I am all for more Chucky movies if they do them right and use CG sparingly.  I can already see some CG used in this trailer that looks a little funky but I like the look of the practical doll.  

Here’s what Universal 1440 Entertainment has to say about the movie: “He’s back! From the filmmakers that brought you Chucky comes the terrifying return of the pint-sized doll possessed by the spirit of a notorious serial killer. When a mysterious package arrives at the house of Nica (Fiona Dourif, True Blood), she doesn’t give it much thought. However, after her mother’s mysterious death, Nica begins to suspect that the talking, red-haired doll her visiting niece has been playing with may be the key to the ensuing bloodshed and chaos. The return of America’s favorite toy, voiced again by Brad Dourif, is unrated and full of more blood-splattered thrills and chills.”  Curse of Chucky hits DVD and Blu-ray on October 8.

by Ben McBride

Follow Ben on Twitter @monsterpopcorn

Curse of Chucky still 2

Leave a Reply

