Schwarzenegger to Star in The Toxic Avenger Remake?

arnold and toxie together

This might be one of the weirdest pieces of casting news I’ve ever heard.  Arnold Schwarzenegger is in talks to star in the reboot of the ’80s cult action comedy, The Toxic Avenger.  He would not being playing Toxie but would instead play another lead role in the movie.  Steve Pink (Hot Tub Time Machine) is set to direct from a script that he and Daniel C. Mitchell wrote.  The new project is being described as an action adventure geared toward mainstream audiences.

Arnold and Toxie together?  Oh hell yes!  It’s a match made in some weird alternate universe heaven but I’m 100% on board.  Troma Entertainment’s Lloyd Kaufman and Michael Herz started The Toxic Avenger franchise in 1984 with the release of the original movie that flopped before gaining the popularity it has today.  It went on to spawn three sequels and a cartoon show so I suppose it was only a matter of time before the franchise was looked at for a remake/reboot.  I just didn’t think the reboot would be a very high profile project as it looks like it will be now.  I am pretty excited that a Troma property is receiving some big attention and what better way to make it a film that will get noticed than to have Schwarzenegger involved.  If he does sign on officially, this may become one of my more anticipated movies of 2014 or 2015 (or whenever they would release it).

I’ve always had an affinity for The Toxic Avenger, mainly because Toxie invaded my childhood through the short lived cartoon show, The Toxic Crusaders, and various action figures I used to own.  I’m not sure my parents even really knew what the hell Toxie was nor did they know what Troma Entertainment was.  Their ignorance rewarded me with mutated toys of odd heroes based on a weird, adult movie franchise.  As a kid, I remember seeing the VHS box at every movie rental store I would go to back in the ’80s and it always intrigued me.  I’m very curious to see what a modern day Toxic Avenger would be.  With Hot Tub Time Machine‘s Steve Pink at the helm, I definitely can see something stupidly fun being made and I’m totally down for that.

For those not-in-the-know or for those wanting a little reminder, here are a couple videos to refresh your memory on The Toxic Avenger franchise.  The first video is a collection of clips from the 1984 movie that shows how ridiculously fun the movie is and the second video is the first episode of The Toxic Crusaders animated show, with an intro from “Uncle Lloydie” himself. Enjoy!


by Ben McBride

Follow Ben on Twitter @monsterpopcorn

Source: Variety

The Toxic Avenger poster

One thought on “Schwarzenegger to Star in The Toxic Avenger Remake?

Leave a Reply

