The Blu-ray Crypt – Jan. 8

Dredd 3D blu art

Dredd 3D

Dredd is a pretty solid action film that didn’t quite make the box office impact its fans were hoping for, which is a shame really as I thought there was potential for more stories from Mega City.  While I enjoyed the film, I found the story to be a little too isolated.  The story isn’t bad by any means but I was more intrigued by the world of Dredd and wanted to see more of the day to day life of the future society.  I felt Dredd was more of a tease of what I wanted to see in a Judge Dredd film.  Still, Dredd is a fun flick and action fans should get a kick out of it.

House at the End of the Street blu art

The House at the End of the Street

I never saw this in the theater and had plans to eventually see it on blu-ray but I’ve heard nothing but bad things in regards to this film.  I really like Jennifer Lawrence but trusted sources have warned me this isn’t even worth the time to give it a shot.

Frankenweenie blu art

Frankenweenie 3D

This is another film I missed at the theater.  I’m not the world’s biggest Tim Burton fan so my motivation to see this has been on the low side.  That being said, I absolutely will be checking it out in high-def to see if it’s at least a fun time and if it’s worthy of any future award nominations it may receive in the animation category (though I’m sure it doesn’t stand a chance against my favorite animated film of the year, ParaNorman).

Hit and Run blu art

Hit & Run

Hit & Run is ultimately a forgettable film.  The filmmakers were trying for a comedic grindhouse-esque story that just ends up feeling a little flat.  Fans of Kristen Bell and Dax Shephard may want to check this out but don’t expect anything remarkable.  It’s not offensively bad and could be a decent distraction for some for about an hour and forty minutes.

Stolen blu art

Stolen

If Nicholas Cage is in a film that doesn’t look very good, I always hope to at least see crazy Nick Cage.  Stolen definitely doesn’t look good but, sadly, this just looks like bored Nick Cage.  The movie looks like a less exciting and derivative version of Taken and just doesn’t offer up enough appeal for even a possible Redbox rental.

Cape Fear (1962) blu art

Cape Fear (1962)

An unapologetic classic film that holds up rather well today and easily betters Martin Scorsese’s remake in my humble opinion.  Gregory Peck and Robert Mitchum are absolutely fantastic in their roles.  If you’ve never seen this original version of Cape Fear, it comes highly recommended.

More titles released today:

Compliance

Jack & Diane

Archer: The Complete Third Season

Two-Lane Blacktop

Enlightened: The Complete First Season

Anger Management: Season One

Red Dwarf X

The Hour: Season Two

Samsara

Game Change

Driving Miss Daisy

The Bone Collector

Fear

French Kiss

One Fine Day

The Jazz Singer

Stalingrad

Grand Hotel

Mrs. Miniver

by Ben McBride

Leave a Reply

