The Blu-ray Crypt – Nov. 20

The Expendables 2

This is the release I’m most anticipating this week.  I loved The Expendables 2 (you can read my review here) and found it to be one of the most satisfying movie experiences of the summer.  I know The Expendables franchise has its detractors but this isn’t Shakespeare people, this is just some silly fun with some of the great action legends of our time.  The action is a lot of fun and the interactions between everyone shows that they are all just making a movie meant to entertain.  I thoroughly enjoyed the first Expendables but the sequel definitely takes itself a lot less seriously which allows the cheesy nature of the film to be embraced.  I’m really looking forward to watching this again and checking out the behind the scenes featurettes.  I can’t wait for The Expendables 3!

Tarantino XX: 8-Film Collection

This set contains eight films, chosen by Quentin Tarantino himself, to illustrate the first 20 years of his career.  You get Reservoir Dogs, True Romance: Director’s Cut, Pulp Fiction, Jackie BrownKill Bill: Volume 1, Kill Bill: Volume 2, Death Proof and Inglorious Basterds.  The set also features two discs with five hours of all-new bonus material, highlighted by a critics’ retrospective on Tarantino’s groundbreaking catalog of films and  “20 Years of Filmmaking” that contains interviews with critics, stars and other masters of cinema.  Since I own, more than half of these movies already, I’ll probably wait to see if this goes on sale for cheap at some point down the road before thinking of picking this up, though the two extra discs of content are rather appealing.  The box art is pretty badass too.  This is definitely a purchase-worthy box set, especially if you don’t own these films yet.

Game of Thrones: The Complete First Season Collector’s Edition

I’m not sure how I feel about these TV show collector’s editions, though I guess I shouldn’t be all that surprised considering movies often get multiple editions.  I rebought The Walking Dead: Season 1 when the special edition for that came out but I don’t really want to double dip on this set.  Don’t get me wrong, I think Game of Thrones is some quality badass television but I don’t really need anything that this set comes with.  Completists and uber fans will probably definitely want to pick this up as it comes with a premium dragon egg paperweight, a Blu-ray bonus disc of season two, episode one, as well as all of the bonus materials and interactive features from the original DVD and Blu-ray DVD.  I’m just patiently awaiting Season Two to be released since I don’t have HBO and really want to see the latest season.

Puppet Master II

I can’t say that I’m a fan of the Puppet Master films or not.  I know I’ve seen at least one of them and I’m not even sure which one I saw to be honest.  That being said, I’d be willing to check them out and now have all the more reason too since they’ve hit Blu-ray.  I absolutely love that cult films seem to be thriving on the high-def format.  If you love movies with cheesy evil puppets this is for you.

More titles released today:

Heaven’s Gate

Grave of the Fireflies

The Portrait of a Lady

Cinderella II: Dreams Come True/Cinderella III: A Twist in Time

Santa Paws 2: The Santa Pups

Zorro (1975)

The Peter Walker Collection

WWE: The Attitude Era

The Dust Bowl

Gypsy

Ramrod

The Trap

Judas Kiss

by Ben McBride

One thought on “The Blu-ray Crypt – Nov. 20

Leave a Reply

