The Blu-ray Crypt – Nov. 13


Brave

Brave is the only Pixar film that I have not seen in a theater (well, except Cars 2, but I just couldn’t bring myself to see that one).  I’ll definitely be checking it out on Blu-ray, though I’m not in any rush to if I’m being honest.  The majority of the reviews of the film that I saw were positive but none stated that this is a must-see Pixar film.  I like the look of the film a lot, which seems to have some really cool atmosphere thanks to the Scotland locale.  It makes me wish that Pixar would make something a little more out of their safety zone and more moody and adult.  I’d really like to see that.

Doctor Who: Series Seven, Part One

I’m only on Season Three of Doctor Who currently, but from the commercials of the more recent seasons of Doctor Who, the new seasons look incredible!  The budget/technology difference between Seasons One to Three and Season Seven is astounding.  I cannot wait to see these new episodes and see how Matt Smith compares to David Tennant.

The Watch

I was really looking forward to The Watch.  The trailer made me laugh and I liked the cast line-up.  Richard Ayoade, in particular, was a draw since he’s from the utterly hilarious British series, The IT Crowd.  Sadly, reviews were pretty down on the movie and seemed to point to the movie just being more boring than anything.  While I don’t let reviews stop me from seeing a movie I’m interested in, it did make me want to wait to see it until it hit Blu-ray where I can rent it from Netflix or Redbox.  Did you see The Watch?  What did you think of it?

Document of the Dead

This exclusive BD/DVD Combo from Synapse Films is LIMITED to 1500 copies and is only available at the Synapse Films website.  This is an all-new version of the award-winning documentary classic based on Romero’s Dawn of the Dead.  This 2012 version is newly re-edited and re-mastered and contains new exclusive material that includes additional interviews with Romero’s family and friends, candid on-set footage from Two Evil Eyes, Land of the Dead, Diary of the Dead, Survival of the Dead and much more.  I’m pretty intrigued by this as I’ve never seen the original version of this and am interested in seeing the newly added material as well.  Better get this one before it’s gone.

Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure

I can’t honestly remember if I’ve seen this movie or if I’ve just seen bits and pieces on TV back in the day.  Regardless, I really have no memory of this movie and therefore I MUST seet it!  I mean, how could I go through life without some Bill & Ted Adventures?  This does bring back memories of the Bill & Ted cartoon which served as my greatest exposure to the characters as a kid.

Friends: The Complete Series

This isn’t a set that I’d pick up, even though I did grow up with Friends and do watch episodes in syndication here and there from time to time but seeing this does give me hope for more TV offerings.  I hope it sells well and the studios see there is profitability in releasing older shows on Blu-ray.  I’d love to own shows like Seinfeld, Arrested DevelopmentTwo Guys and A Girl (or Two Guys, A Girl and a Pizza Place before they changed the title), Buffy, Angel, Veronica Mars, The X-FilesThe Adventures of Brisco County Jr., etc., in high-def.  They’ve been releasing Star Trek: The Next Generation on Blu-ray as well and that seems to be going well and they just announced that Star Trek: Enterprise is going high-def as well, so I have my fingers crossed for more beloved shows to hit the format.

More titles released today:

Lawrence of Arabia

Empire of the Sun

Vamps

Dark Horse

Lost Girl: Season 2

Savages: Unrated Edition

2 Days in New York

The Queen of Versailles

Natural Selection

Watchmen: Collector’s Edition

Harold & Kumar: Ultimate Collector’s Edition

Snowmageddon

Twilight’s Last Gleaming

Weekend

The Barbarian and the Geisha

Trilogy of Life

My Big Fat Greek Wedding

The Postman Always Rings Twice (1946)

The Postman Always Rings Twice (1981)

Marvel Knights: Astonishing X-Men

Pearl Jam 20 Deluxe

The Universe in 3D

Company

Pixar Short Films Collection, Volume 2

The Big Trail

by Ben McBride (@monsterpopcorn)

Leave a Reply

