Movie Trailer Round-Up

Evil Dead

At first I was pretty hesitant about wanting to see this new entry of the Evil Dead franchise.  The fact that both Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell produced this new film and that it isn’t an outright remake, in that there is no Ash character and the lead is now female, makes it easier to swallow (your soul.. sorry, couldn’t help myself there).  I’m actually pretty interested in seeing what first-time feature-film writer/director Fede Alvarez does with the movie (and from the looks of the trailer, it looks like we’re in for a demented and gross, but fun, time).  My interest in the film is further compounded by the leading lady, Jane Levy (Suburgatory), and that they brought on Diablo Cody (Young Adult, Jennifer’s Body) to do some script touch-ups.  After now seeing the trailer, I’m definitely in for this one as it looks pretty insane.  Just a warning though, this is a Red Band trailer and is NSFW.


Side Effects

There was a time when I didn’t have much excitement towards a new Steven Soderbergh film.  But after films like Haywire, Contagion and Magic Mike, I’ve grown to really like what Soderbergh has been doing as of late.  The trailer for his newest film, Side Effects, looks pretty damn good and has guaranteed my butt in the seat.  I like Rooney Mara (the star of the film) a lot and, even though I wasn’t the biggest fan of the American remake of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, I really dug her performance and found her to be strangely magnetic.  She gives very understated but powerful performances and I’m interested in seeing what she does here.


Cottage Country

When I first saw the sales poster for this movie I was instantly reminded of Tucker & Dale Vs. Evil, another dark comedy film that stars Tyler Labine.  Since I loved that film, this of course led me to watching the trailer for Cottage Country, which stars Labine, Malin Ackerman and Lucy Punch and is brought to us by one of the producers of Hobo with a Shotgun.  I really like Tyler Labine and think he’s hilarious and Malin Ackerman brings the funny every week on Adult Swim’s Childrens Hospital.  Combine those two leads with some silly but dark humor and I think this could be a fun time.


Lay the Favorite

The trailer for this comedy doesn’t sell me completely on the story itself but the fact that it is directed by Stephen Frears (High Fidelity) definitely gives it more appeal, plus I have a thing for Rebecca Hall so I won’t have any problem sitting through this with her in the lead.  I like the rest of the cast and there are some moments that I found funny enough to entice me.  This may not be one that I rush out to see but I will definitely be checking it out.


by Ben McBride


Leave a comment