The Blu-ray Crypt – Oct. 23

Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter 3D

I must say this movie surprised me.  I was expecting to loathe it based off a lackluster trailer and the fact that the names of Timur Bekmambetov and Tim Burton don’t really do much for me nowadays.  I reviewed it back when the film was in theaters (which you can read here) but I will say that I found it to be rather entertaining.  In fact, I’m actually looking forward to rewatching it soon.  I’m probably just going to buy the regular 2D version since I didn’t see it in theaters in 3D and it was post-conversion film anyhow.

Magic Mike

While some may look at Magic Mike as being a female-fantasy movie, I just like to look at it as another excellent entry from filmmaker Steven Soderbergh.  Between this film and 21 Jump Street, I can now say I’m on board the Channing Tatum train (in the most non-sexual manner of course).  He does a really great job in the film and really demonstrates the fact that he was born to be a performer.  The film itself is a great character drama that sits amongst some of the better films of the year.  Definitely check it out.

Seeking a Friend for the End of the World

I’m such a sucker for apocalyptic stories.  Granted, just because a story has an apocalyptic angle doesn’t always mean I’ll like it, but in the case of this film, I really did enjoy it quite a bit.  This is a fun little character dramedy set against the end of the world that I found to be rather charming.  It’s equally as funny as it is dramatic and the ending of the film really sealed the deal for me on my enjoyment of the movie.  There’s just something appealing about stories where the world ends.  It allows the characters to wipe away the bullshit things in every day life that we all get wrapped up in and allows them to really focus on what matters.  This is a solid indie flick with great performances from its leads, particularly with Keira Knightley as a bit of a loose canon/free spirit.

Stanley Kubrick’s Fear and Desire

This is one title that I’ve been a little reluctant to check out, though I undoubtedly will at some point.  This is Stanley Kubrick’s first feature-length directorial effort, one that he has since gone on to state his dislike of.  I have a feeling Kubrick didn’t really want this film to be seen or distributed any further as it sounded like he was unhappy with it.  Out of respect of Mr. Kubrick, I feel hesitant to watch it but I’m a completist and I like to see a filmmaker’s journey through their career even if there are some bad films mixed in with the good ones.  If anything I just want to see the film due to the fact that this is one that hasn’t really been available to see until now and it’s like finding a piece of cinema history.  Even if I watch it and find myself agreeing with Kubrick on its quality, he’s still leaving behind a legacy that includes 2001: A Space Odyssey, A Clockwork Orange, The Shining, Eyes Wide Shut amongst countless other beloved films that will not be tarnished by a single film.

The Devil’s Carnival

I’m not always into what director Darren Lynn Bousman has to offer but I’m glad he’s out there doing his own thing.  He’s been involved in some higher profile films, like the Saw series, but he has since continued to play in the low-budget indie genre arena.  I thought Repo: The Genetic Opera was interesting though not something that I would find myself watching on repeat.  The Devil’s Carnival seems to be in a similar vein as Repo since it is a horror musical.  I’d definitely watch this but it may be awhile before I get around to it.  There are only 6,660 copies that were made and are only available on thedevilscarnival.com, so if you intend on owning the blu-ray, I’d do so sooner rather than later.

More titles released today:

Blade Runner: 30th Anniversary Collector’s Edition Digibook

The Ambassador

Star Wars: The Clone Wars, Season 4

Sunday Bloody Sunday

Wrong Turn 5: Bloodlines

247°

Puppet Master X: Axis Rising

Lost Girl – Season 1

Take This Waltz

The Penalty

iRobot 3D

Crooked Arrows

You Only Live Twice

The Spy Who Loved Me

On Her Majesty’s Secret Service

Secret of the Wings 3D

Athena: Goddess of War

Naruto Shippuden The Movie: The Will of Fire

Tyler Perry’s Madea’s Witness Protection

by Ben McBride

Leave a Reply

