The Blu-ray Crypt – Oct. 2

Universal Classic Monsters: The Essential Collection

I have to admit that, despite being a big movie buff and a huge fan of horror, I haven’t seen most of the Universal Monster films.  Yes, I know, I should be ashamed of myself, but I plan on making up for this giant oversight this month.  In fact, I expect this box set to be waiting for me at my doorstep when I get home today, so rest assured, I will be watching them all very soon.  I’m very familiar with the stories of most of these as they have had great influence on a lot of films over the years but I’m pretty excited to check out Bride of Frankenstein since I’m the least familiar with that film and to revisit Creature from the Black Lagoon (I have seen at least one!).

A Nightmare on Elm Street Collection (Best Buy In-Store Exclusive)

I was a little skeptical of this set at first.  For starters, the cover art is serviceable but really lazy.  Then I found out that, with exception to the first film, each movie is paired with another on each disc.  This made me skeptical of two things: the quality of the transfers and the existence of special features.  I’m happy to report that this set lacks neither!  I had heard the transfer for Dream Warriors, in particular, was not very good so I popped in the disc to find out for myself and after glancing at it for a few minutes, I’m perfectly happy with the image quality.  Granted, they don’t look like blu-ray releases of high-end productions of today, but they do look better than their DVD counterparts and I feel satisfied with the transfer.  On top of that, the set is jam-packed with special features!  Each movie has their own bonus features (which were probably ported over from the previous DVD box set) and then on disc 5 there is an all-new retrospective, Fear Himself: The Life and Crimes of Freddy Kreuger.  I’m personally pretty jazzed about watching New Nightmare in high-def as that is one of my favorites of the series.  At a $45 price point, this set is an easy recommendation.

Sound of My Voice

I really dug Sound of My Voice (my review here) and thought it was a really interesting and satisfying movie experience.  I liked that the film feels like it could be interpreted in varying ways and each person can take away something different from it.  What I appreciated most about it is the fact that because it can be viewed differently, it’s easy to get into a discussion over it after seeing the film with others.  I went to see it a second time in the theater just so I could talk with people about it afterwards.  I just really like movies that make me want to discuss the story and the themes and examine it further.  Between Another Earth and Sound of My Voice, I’m pretty interested in seeing what writer/star Brit Marling does next.

The Hole

The reason you should want to see this film is because of one name, Joe Dante.  He’s the man behind films like The Howling, Gremlins, Innerspace, The ‘Burbs, Explorers and more.  This is his most recent film, which had been sitting on a shelf collecting dust for about two years, and is now finally being released!  The Hole was shot natively in 3D and if you were one of the lucky few to have seen it in its extremely limited release last week, then you got to see it as Dante intended and I’m incredibly jealous!  I’m actually hoping to set up a screening of it in 3D here in Columbus barring that the studio is willing to do so.  If not, well then I will be watching it in 2D at home.  Either way, I cannot wait to see this film that I’ve been dying to see for years!

Pet Semetary

There are some movies that I remember from my childhood that always stand out to me for one reason or another.  Pet Sematary is one of them.  Even though my parents didn’t allow me to watch R-rated films when I was younger, I still managed to seek out quite a few on my own, especially if they were in the horror genre.  I remember watching Pet Sematary on a borrowed VHS tape from a neighbor and cringed everytime I saw the knife slice through Fred Gwynne’s ankle.  I also got really creeped out by the Zelda character, just thinking about her gives me the willies.  I’ve never read Stephen King’s original book but I remember liking this movie.  I’ll have to rewatch it and see how it holds up today.

Masters of the Universe

This is another film I haven’t seen since I was a kid and there is a part of me that is really eager to watch it.  The movie features Dolph Lundgren as He-Man, Frank Langella as Skeletor and a very young Courtney Cox.  I’m not sure I remember anything about the film other than the stars but I’m hoping that when I watch it again, it’s as bad as I hope it to be!

Princess Bride – 25th Anniversary Edition

“Hello.  My name is Inigo Montaya.  You killed my father.  Prepare to die!”  The Princess Bride has been a beloved film for many years now and, while already having been released on blu-ray before, it is celebrating its 25th Anniversary with this new edition.  It looks like all the special features from the previous release carry over to this one and this edition features a brand new, two-part retrospective documentary, True Love: The Princess Bride Phenomenon.  Even if you have the previous version, this might be worth the double dip if you want that documentary, especially since it’s only $11.99.

Dark Star

Dark Star is legendary director John Carpenter’s first full-length feature film.  The 1974 film was co-written by Carpenter and Dan O’Bannon, writer of such film as Alien, Dead & Buried and Lifeforce.  This blu-ray is a bit of a mystery at the moment as its release date is listed as Oct. 2nd but it’s listed as temporarily out of stock on Amazon.  I’m not sure if the release has gotten delayed or not but I was able to pre-order it last week so I guess we’ll see if I get it sometime soon.

Dark Shadows

I’ve not seen this film and, to be honest, I’m not sure I have much interest in checking it out.  I’m not a big Tim Burton fan to begin with and I feel his work has gone downhill over the years and he’s become a stereotype of himself.  Plus I’ve never seen the original Dark Shadows TV show so there’s not a lot of motivation for me to see it.  I could be wrong in my assumption and that maybe this is a fun flick but I have a feeling if I do watch it, it’ll be a long time from now and probably at the request of someone else.

More titles released today:

Cinderella

People Like Us

Red Lights

Chained

Downton Abbey, Seasons One & Two:  Limited UK Edition

Nikita: The Complete Second Season

Annie

Cyborg

Double Impact

Death Warrant

Flying Swords of Dragon Gate

In the Mood for Love

Goldeneye

Diamonds are Forever

Tomorrow Never Dies

Octopussy

You Only Live Twice

The Spy Who Loved Me

On Her Majesty’s Secret Service

A View to a Kill

The Living Daylights

Leave a Reply

