The Blu-ray Crypt – Sept. 25

The Avengers

The year’s biggest movie comes to Blu-ray where it will surely make another big splash as everyone buys up their copies to rewatch Joss Whedon’s superhero epic.  For me, I just can’t wait to see Hulk and Loki’s encounter again.  That moment had me laughing so hard and may be the single funniest moment in any film of 2012.  It was pretty awesome to watch all the Marvel superheroes gather together in one big movie but what has me really excited about this movie is that this is just the setup.  The Avengers establishes these characters as a team and now that we have that very fun introduction out of the way, the stakes can be raised even further and I cannot wait to see what Whedon and Marvel cook up for us to better The Avengers.  (The cover art shown above is for the Best Buy exclusive pre-order which gives you a steelbook case to put your discs in.  There may still be a few of these left at the store that you can purchase if you’re lucky, and want one of course).

The Game

This is a release I feel like I’ve been waiting a long time for.  It was many years ago when I heard of rumors that Criterion was going to release David Fincher’s The Game.  At the time, it would have meant a DVD release as Blu-ray didn’t exist then.  I’m extremely happy now that we not only get a Criterion release of the film but it’s in high-def to boot!  The Game isn’t my favorite of Fincher’s films but it is a very effective thriller that is most definitely a fun watch.  The Blu-ray sports a new, restored digital transfer approved by David Fincher and supervised by director of photography Harris Savides.  There is also an hour’s worth of exclusive behind-the-scenes footage as well as film-to-storyboard comparisons for four of the film’s major set pieces, complete with commentary.  As an enormous fan of David Fincher, I’m pretty stoked to get my hands on a copy of this release.  I may have to pair this up with Fight Club for a Fincher double feature.  Now we just need Panic Room to be released in high-def and I’ll be able to complete my Fincher on Blu-ray collection.

Batman: The Dark Knight Returns

I’ve not seen this yet but out of all the recent DC animated movies, The Dark Knight Returns is the one I’ve been most excited to watch.  This is based off of the Frank Miller comic of the same name, for those unaware.  The animation in this film was made to reflect that of Miller’s own artwork from the book and it’ll be interesting to see just how representative it will actually be.  I’m not sure when Part 2 is supposed to come out but based on the reviews surrounding this release and the reasonable price point, it may be an easy blind buy.

Klown

This is the fourth film released from the Drafthouse Films label.  I’m a member of the Drafthouse Alliance and I got my copy early last week.  I squandered my opportunity to watch Klown in time for this column in favor of saving it for an upcoming Drafthouse Films spotlight column I’ll be doing soon hopefully where I’ll watch their previous releases in order (Four Lions, The FP, Bullhead, Klown) and review them.  Hopefully by their next release I’ll be caught up and ready to dish out a few details when their next film pops up in this column.  For the time being, I’ll just say this, the buzz on this film is enormously good and everyone seems to be in agreement that this is one funny as hell flick.

Bond 50: The Complete 22 Film Collection

If I didn’t already own quite a few of the Bond films on blu then I would definitely be jonesing for this box set.  All the Bond films in one box celebrating 50 years of the world’s most famous spy!  While I’ve not seen all of these films in high-def, I have seen some of them and they look AMAZING, especially the early Sean Connery films.  Watching those films on blu honestly felt like I was watching them for the first time.  This set may set you back $150 but that’s twenty-two films at $6.81 each.  That’s a friggin’ steal.

Porky’s (Walmart Exclusive)

Director Bob Clark has given us quite a few classic films in a variety of genres.  There is the holiday classic, A Christmas Story, the cult favorite horror film, Black Christmas, and then this high school romp/boobs-on-display movie, Porky’s.  I find it odd that Walmart is selling this movie exclusively (for the time being) as it doesn’t exactly gel with their “family oriented” business mindset.  I’m not complaining mind you, it’s just an odd movie for them to pick as an exclusive.  Either way, Porky’s fans can rejoice that it has arrived on blu!

More titles released today:

The Tall Man

American Horror Story: The Complete First Season

Damsels in Distress

Portlandia: Season Two

The Samaritan

Resident Evil: Damnation

The American President

Dave

Key & Peele: Season One

Eating Raoul

Strippers vs. Werewolves

Dracula vs. Frankenstein

This Is Cinerama

by Ben McBride

One thought on “The Blu-ray Crypt – Sept. 25

  1. Seems like a pretty busy week for Blu-Ray releases. Mostly though, I’m just excited to finally see The Avengers. I missed it in the theater, and at times, when all my coworkers at DISH were talking about it, I felt like I was the only person on the planet who hadn’t watched it. Because of that I’m kind of tempted to buy it, but Blu-Rays get expensive when you get in the habit of buying a lot of movies. Plus I’ve been disappointed with a number movies I’ve bought without watching them first. So I think I’ll hold off even though from what I hear, I’m almost guaranteed to love it. Besides it’s already in my Blockbuster @Home queue, so I’ll be getting the Blu-Ray in the mail shortly. If I like it, then I probably will buy it, and in that case since I pay a flat monthly rate to rent movies and video games, I won’t be paying a couple of bucks to one of those kiosks to rent it and then pay full price for a Blu-Ray if I decide I want to own it. That always makes me feel like I got ripped off just a bit LOL.

    Like

Leave a Reply

