The Blu-ray Crypt – Sept. 18

So I’ve decided to make the blu-ray column a weekly occurrence and have tentatively settled on “The Blu-ray Crypt” as the title.  If someone has a better idea for a blu-ray column title, feel free to share your ideas!  This week has quite a few enticing releases on blu-ray, some of which I’m really ecstatic about.  Horror fans, like myself, have some good options to choose from.

Cabin in the Woods

It took me two viewings to really see what Cabin in the Woods was really going after.  After realizing what Whedon and Goddard were saying with the movie and the fact that it’s a film that lovingly embraces its genre, I couldn’t help but be in awe of it.  If you haven’t seen this yet and have remained spoiler free, pick this up and watch it!  It’s intelligent and effective genre filmmaking and may be the year’s best horror entry to date.

Indiana Jones Box set

With exception to the fourth film in this franchise, the Indiana Jones movies are top-notch, quality adventure films that deserve to be seen in the best possible quality.  I’ve heard nothing but great things as to the transfers of these beloved films and I’m thoroughly excited to check them out on blu-ray.  The box itself is very reminiscent to that of the complete Star Wars box set and looks like a solid package.  Some of the special features from the previous DVD box set have been carried over here as well as some new materials.  Whenever I get around to picking this up (my horror purchases take precedent this time of year), I’m going to try watching them in chronological order for the first time, starting with Temple of Doom.

Halloween II

As some of you may recall, Universal put out a 3oth Anniversary Edition of this film last year and you may be wondering why would you want to purchase this new release from Scream Factory.  For starters, the cover art here is pretty badass, but what sells it for me is the new special features, including a making of documentary, and an improved video transfer.  If you already own the Universal edition, you may want to hold onto that as the famous Terror From the Aisles documentary is exclusive to that release.  That being said, it looks like this release bests Universal’s in every other way and looks to be the best edition of Halloween II we’ve seen yet.

Halloween III: Season of the Witch

I think out of any of the releases this week, this is the one I’m most excited about.  Halloween III was poorly received since it had nothing to do with the Michael Myers character.  John Carpenter and Debra Hill had the idea to take the franchise in a different direction giving us new horror stories with each new Halloween entry.  That idea died with this movie and the franchise quickly reverted back to Michael Myers territory with Halloween 4.  I actually really liked Carpenter and Hill’s idea and I think Halloween III is very underrated horror gem.  It’s not mind-blowingly amazing but I really dig the movie and I believe it deserves a proper release for its fans.  Thankfully, Scream Factory agreed with that notion and are releasing it on blu-ray with actual special features, including a behind the scenes documentary of this lone Halloween film.  I’m really excited to get this edition and I really love the artwork.

Judge Dredd

There are two Stallone films that I tend to bunch together in my mind as being similar, Demolition Man and Judge Dredd.  While I definitely like Demolition Man a lot more, I really do enjoy watching Judge Dredd and, despite the fact that it undoubtedly pales in comparison to its source material, I find it to be rather entertaining.  Then again, I’m a fan of Stallone and enjoy his cheesier action films.  Besides Sly spitting out one-liners, the thing I probably like the most is the design of the decommissioned ABC robot that Rico gains control of.  I just really thought that was a badass robot design and is always the thing I remember the most from the movie.  When the new Dredd film was announced, I knew it would result in the release of this movie on blu-ray and, sure enough, here it is.  I can’t wait to watch it in high-def.  I AM THE LAW!

More titles released today:

Supernatural: Season 7

Ed Wood

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

The Devil’s Advocate

The Babymakers

Bait 3D

Children of Paradise

Hysteria

The Do-Deca-Pentathlon

Puppet Master

Puppet Master II

Puppet Master III: Toulon’s Revenge

Night of the Demons (2009)

Hoffa

The War of the Roses

The Victim

Modern Family: The Complete Third Season

Hawaii Five-O: The Second Season

One thought on “The Blu-ray Crypt – Sept. 18

Leave a Reply

