This Week’s Blu-ray Highlights

I’m in the process of creating a new column for Monster Popcorn that will cover Blu-ray new releases each week.  I haven’t figured out what I want it to be exactly or what the title is but, in the meantime, I wanted to drop a few highlights from this week’s new releases that are out today.

Snow White & The Huntsman

I couldn’t really get into SWatH all that much.  Honestly, it kind of bored me.  It had elements I liked but I never got into the story and it just felt kind of flat.  The dwarves, the element of the film I thought I was sure to enjoy since they were made up of some pretty amazing actors, failed to capture my interest.  That being said, I know that the movie has its fans and it looks like there are some decent special features that should please fans of the film.  This release also comes with the theatrical edition (127 mins.) and an extended edition (131 mins.).  The cover art above is of the Best Buy exclusive steelbook case.

Lola Versus

I unfortunately missed this one in theaters but I really want to check it out.  I really like Greta Gerwig and she definitely increases a movie’s appeal for me.  She’s beautiful, charming and has a very genuine quality that I think people pick up on.  The movie looks like it’s fun and I hope to get to watch this soon.

Jeepers Creepers

Jeepers Creepers was a bit of pleasant surprise for me.  I had skipped it at the theater and seemed reluctant to watch it when it hit DVD for some unknown reason.  When I did finally give it a go, I found it to be rather effective in its scares and atmosphere and it was pretty fun to boot.  It also marked Justin Long’s first major role in a film, of which he did a pretty admirable job.  The film was successful enough to create a sequel, which also performed well at the box office.  I know Jeepers Creepers 3: Cathedral is something that has been in the works but I haven’t a clue as to what the status is of that movie just yet.  It looks like if it’s still happening, we might see it in 2013.  Until then, at least we get to enjoy the original in high-def.  Now if only the cover art didn’t look so generic.

Killer Klowns from Outer Space

If you like bad movies and you haven’t seen this, you should probably do so.  The killer clowns’ spaceship looks like a circus tent, they have guns that shoot popcorn, if they don’t kill you outright they kidnap you and put you in cotton candy cocoons, these are just a few of the things that makes this movie hilariously bad, but in a good way.  The clowns are all actually really creepy looking so if this wasn’t some campy schlockfest, I bet this could scare the crap out of some people.  Watch with friends, create a drinking game, you’ll have a good time.  The cover art is a bit deceiving, it makes it look scarier than it is.  They should have just kept the original poster artwork (here).

Beyond the Black Rainbow

This is another one that I missed at the theater.  Stylistically, this movie looks pretty awesome.  There is very much a Dario Argento 80s vibe to the whole thing with the colors and music.  It could turn out to be interesting or it could be a giant dud but its bizarre trailer has me sold.  Plus it’s released by Magnet and they have an eye for really interesting stuff.

The Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2

I’ve never ventured past the original The Texas Chainsaw Massacre to its direct sequels.  I’ve seen the terrible Matthew McConaughey/Renee Zellweger Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Next Generation and the 2003 remake and its sequel so I don’t know why I’ve never gotten around to this one.  I’m intrigued by the direction that Tobe Hooper took with his second outing with this series, changing the tone from the original and making something very over the top.  I’ve heard good things about Tom Savini’s make-up effects as well so I will definitely have to check this one out during my month long horror fest in October.

JCVD

This movie didn’t knock my socks off but the reason to watch it is for Jean-Claude Van Damme.  He gives the best performance of his career here and it’s obvious that what he puts up on screen is incredibly personal, almost acting as a bit of a confessional for his past.  It’s an interesting watch and if you haven’t seen it yet, I’d give it a look.

More titles that were released today:

The Paranormal Activity Trilogy set

The Firm (Best Buy Exclusive)

Rosewood Lane

What to Expect When You’re Expecting

Steel Magnolias

October Baby

Goats

For Greater Glory

The Big Bang Theory: Season 5

Spartacus: Vengeance  – Season 2

The Vampire Diaries: Season 3

Titanic (released on 9/10)

by Ben McBride

One thought on “This Week’s Blu-ray Highlights

Leave a Reply

