Eli Roth Presents A New Ti West Film

Eli Roth will present and produce Ti West’s next film, The Revenant.  West writes and directs the horror thriller which will begin filming in Georgia later this month.  The premise is currently being kept under wraps so no logline is available.  However, Roth did comment on the film, “We want to make this Ti’s first mainstream movie, without sacrificing the quality and unflinching horror of the subject matter.”  West’s credits include The House of the Devil, Cabin Fever 2: Spring Fever, The Innkeepers and V/H/S.

This is a small bit of news that popped up recently but I wanted to comment on it here because I’m a fan of both Eli Roth and Ti West.  The teaming up of those two on a horror film sounds incredibly exciting to me.  While I’ve not loved every movie that Roth has put out, Cabin Fever is easily my favorite of his and the Hostel films aren’t bad but I don’t tend to rewatch them much because they feel a bit dismal, much like the original The Texas Chainsaw Massacre.  Roth’s been rather busy producing films like 2010’s The Last Exorcism, which I really dug, and the upcoming The Man with the Iron Fists.  He’s got a bunch of projects on his plate but, besides his return to directing duties on the upcoming The Green Inferno, this team-up with West is what I’m most interested in.

I’ve only seen three films from Ti West, The House of the Devil, Cabin Fever 2 and The Innkeepers.  I’ve really enjoyed all three films though I think The Innkeepers is my favorite of the three.  I know West has disowned Cabin Fever 2 due to the studio edit that was released but I still felt I could see what West was going for with the movie and I thought it was kind of cool.  As far as I’m concerned, Ti West can keep creating horror films for as long as he wants to.  He’s a smart and creative filmmaker that stands out from the pack and anything he creates in the horror genre (or any genre for that matter) will definitely be something I’ll be wanting to check out.  If you have yet to see anything from Ti West yet, I highly recommend you do so.

I’ll definitely be keeping an eye on The Revenant as more details get released.

by Ben McBride

Source: Variety

2 thoughts on “Eli Roth Presents A New Ti West Film

Leave a Reply

