Monster Popcorn Staff On The Comic-Con Episode of The Indoor Kids!

Okay, so we weren’t guests on the show, we were the background players.  Mel and I were fortunate enough to be at the right place at the right time for the taping of this Comic-Con episode of The Indoor Kids and now we have proof to show the world that we really exist!  Look at me! Look at me!  Yay vanity!

Okay, while this may seem of little consequence to some of you, I’m a dork and it excites me to be on an episode of one of the Nerdist channel’s fine programming.  In the episode’s first segment about the new DC fighting game Injustice, Mel’s head gets cut off for pretty much all of it, mine pops in some of the time and co-host Emily Gordon hands me Skittles during the episode which I take, eat and then proceed to be an idiot and tweet about it on my phone while they’re taping.  But in segment two, which focuses on Darksiders 2, the camera changes and you can see Mel and I in all of our background glory (and me sans cell phone this time)!  The Monster Popcorn logo also makes an appearance in the episode a few times since my Comic-Con badge had all my business cards in it and was facing the camera.  The show’s post-production team even gets me involved in the segment by adding a caption for me saying I’m skeptical of what the discussion is about.  They also did something really cool and gave Mel and I a little shout out at the end of the episode for being the two guys who stuck through the whole taping!  The episode serves as a great little piece of Comic-Con history for Mel and I that is now available on the interwebs for us to revisit (you can watch it in the embed below).  You should check it out because The Indoor Kids is awesome sauce and fun to watch (and to see the stellar skills Mel and I have in being background guys!).


The Indoor Kids, for the uninitiated, is a Nerdist web series that focuses on video games.  Comedian Kumail Nanjiani and his wife Emily V. Gordon host the show which has them sit down with a special guest to play and discuss a video game and other fun topics.  They’ve had special guests such as James Gunn, Bryan Lee O’Malley, Thomas Lennon, Paul Scheer, Chris Hardwick, Jonah Ray, Matt Mira, Dan Harmon, Aisha Tyler and more!  You can catch up on all of their episodes by heading over to The Indoor Kids You Tube feed on the Nerdist channel.

by Ben McBride

Leave a Reply

