Popcorn News – June 14

The new trailer for the horror film Sinister hit the internet last night.  The movie stars Ethan Hawke and is directed by Scott Derrickson (The Exorcism of Emily Rose).


Hugh Laurie (FOX’s House M.D.) is currently in negotiations to play the villain in the upcoming remake of RoboCop.  He would join the already cast Joel Kinnaman, Gary Oldman and Samuel L. Jackson in the Jose Padilha directed film. (Heat Vision)

Ethan Hawke confirmed that a follow-up film to Before Sunrise and Before Sunset will be shooting this summer.  He didn’t want to give away any details but Richard Linklater and Julie Delpy are both returning for the third film. (Indiewire)

Yvonne Strahovski (NBC’s Chuck) has signed on for a recurring role on Showtime’s upcoming seventh season of Dexter. (Deadline)

Despite Disney halting production of The Lone Ranger to lower its budget from $250 to $215 million awhile back, it looks like the film is once again over its revised budget on top of being behind schedule. (Hollywood Reporter)

A new poster for The Amazing Spider-Man has appeared online featuring Spider-man and Gwen Stacy together. (Twitter)

Both The Hunger Games: Catching Fire and Star Trek 2 will not only be released on IMAX screens but will also be partially shot using IMAX cameras (much like The Dark Knight and Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol).  Star Trek 2 will be released in IMAX 3D as well. (Dark Horizons)

NBC has announced the fall season return dates of its shows.  Some of the reported dates are: Community returns on Oct. 19, 30 Rock on Oct. 4, The Office and Parks & Recreation on Sept. 20 and a new show, Revolution, on Sept. 17. (Ain’t It Cool News)

Judy Greer (Jeff Who Lives At Home, FOX’s Arrested Development) and Portia Doubleday (Youth In Revolt) have been cast in the remake of Carrie.  They join the already starring Chloe Moretz (playing Carrie) and Julianne Moore. (Deadline)

The new episode of Ain’t It Cool With Harry Knowles is now online.  This week’s episode has Harry remembering the late Ray Bradbury and talking with Ernie Cline about his new book Ready Player One. (Ain’t It Cool News)

8 thoughts on “Popcorn News – June 14

    1. Yea, there have been and are a lot of remakes in the works and it’s not going to stop. It’s the Hollywood machine relying on pre-established brand name movies. The upside is every once in awhile a remake stands on its own and is worth watching, most of the time they pale in comparison to the originals. You can look at it as a comparison to how stories were told orally before movies and before books. A story was told to a group of people and someone else retold it to another passing it on, but perhaps adding their own flavor to it, and as it gets passed on to others, perhaps it changes for the better or it changes for the worse.

      I think I’ve just accepted that remakes happen. One of my favorite movies of all time is Halloween. They remade it and I didn’t really care for the remake (though I do like Rob Zombie as a filmmaker) but it didn’t do anything to change my love of the original. If anything, it gets people to check out the original works for comparison and then they can see the awesomeness that the original holds. Then again, sometimes a movie is just bad but has potential hidden within and someone sees that and remakes it and makes a better movie. That being said, I’m all for more original ideas and less on relying on the remake machine.

      Like

      1. The oral tradition of storytelling definitely adds perspective. I just have more respect for remakes when I know the “re-maker” is a huge, huge fan of the series or work he or she is re-doing, instead of Michael Bay turning MUTANT ninja turtles into aliens. haha Yes. I do believe that’s the example I want to use! Although I don’t watch the Halloween remake often, I do agree that Zombie is definitely a unique filmmaker! The remake-sequel wasn’t that bad either!

        Like

      2. I agree, I think Halloween II (Zombie’s version, I guess it was referred to as H2) was actually quite good. As I said, I’m not a big fan of his first one, but I do own H2 and it’ll become one I watch every couple years.

        Like

    2. The first Halloween remake would’ve been stronger if it was A) shorter and B) had less of “kid Mikey”. Which would’ve solved my A) problem. haha But nearly 45 minutes of Michael’s childhood? A bit too much.

      Like

      1. Yea, I didn’t want to see his childhood. I don’t need Michael Myers’ origin told to me. He’s the boogeyman, he doesn’t need backstory haha. Plus once Zombie got to the good stuff, it felt like it was just a fast forward mini-remake of the original. I liked Halloween II because it felt more like he had control over the movie and was making it his own as opposed to trying to service the studio and the fans. I dug it and Myers is a brutal beast in that one.

        Like

  1. Thanks for the news! I’m guessing the reason Disney’s “The Lone Ranger” keeps going over budget is the cost of Tonto’s stuffed bird hats. (Shudder). Love Depp, but I’m a fan of the Lone Ranger from the black and white days. I’m guessing they’re shooting for comedy.

    Wondering what the new Robocop will be like. I very much enjoyed all three (the third being very funny), but could have gotten along without the graphic dismemberment and such of Alex Murphy. Have you heard what they’re planning for the remake?

    Like

    1. Yea, I’m with you on the Tonto stuffed bird hat. I would love to see something more in line with a classical Lone Ranger but instead we’ll be getting the Pirates-of-the-Caribbean-bastardization of it.

      I’ve never seen any of the RoboCop sequels, perhaps I’ll have to check them out. In fact, I don’t have much recollection over the original film so a rewatch is probably in order. As far as the remake, I suspect it will be a grittier more serious take on the material since they hired Jose Padilha to direct it. From what I’ve read it sounds like they want something less campy and more thoughtful. They’ve assembled a pretty interesting cast so I think they might be able to pull off something cool.. and interesting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

