Summer Movie Preview!

So since this weekend doesn’t have any films coming out that look good (Water for Elephants, Tyler Perry Movie #67), I thought I would take the time to preview the upcoming films of the summer season!  So here’s what I am looking forward to this summer!

SUPER   (Apr. 29)

For some this has already been released in your city, but here in Columbus, OH, April 29th is when I get to see James Gunn’s latest film.  I really can’t wait to see Super.  I’m a fan of James Gunn and his quite warped sense of humor.  I highly recommend checking this film out.  It will probably be violent and dark, but as I hear, it’s got really well written characters and may be Gunn’s best film yet.







DYLAN DOG: DEAD OF NIGHT (Apr. 29 – Limited)



THOR   (May 6)

I have my reservations about the film.  The first trailer I saw didn’t wow me.  But the second trailer that was released did look a lot better.  I sincerely hope that they just aren’t showing us the good stuff yet.  I want this film to kick ass, hell, I want all the Marvel movies to be good.  I don’t really care for Thor as a character sometimes, but can definitely see how he could translate well to the big screen.







MIDNIGHT IN PARIS   (May 20 – Limited)

Woody Allen’s next film which co-stars Owen Wilson, Rachel McAdams, Michael Sheen, Adrien Brody and Marion Cotillard.  This is opening the same weekend as Pirates of the Caribbean 4.  I personally have no problem skipping Pirates and hope to see Allen’s film at my local theater on this day so I have something to see this particular weekend.






THE HANGOVER, PART II  
(May 27th)

THE TREE OF LIFE   (May 27th)



X-MEN: FIRST CLASS   (June 3rd)

I think it’s cool that we are going to have a superhero film set in the 60s.  It should be interesting aesthetically.  There are things I like about the film and the trailer, but it hasn’t quite impressed me.  It has some really great cast members though.  I just wish the X-men lineup matched that of the First Class comic, I’d like some classic X-men stories but at least Beast is in this one.







SUPER 8   (June 10th)

THE TROLL HUNTER   (June 10th – Limited)



GREEN LANTERN   (June 17th)

Aside from the fact that I think it’s unnecessary for Green Lantern’s suit to be purely digital which can look funny at times, I think this could be a fun movie.  I’ve not read any of DC’s books regarding this character, but I know many people enjoy the character.  I like Ryan Reynolds and Martin Campbell.  I like the idea of a cosmic superhero movie.  I hope the visuals will at least satisfy.







HORRIBLE BOSSES   (July 8th)



HARRY POTTER AND THE DEATHLY HALLOWS, PART 2   (July 15th)

I liked Part 1.  It may have been the best Harry Potter film to date, but it was only half of the story, so this second part hopefully will live up to the beginning of the Deathly Hallows story.  Overall, I’ve enjoyed the Harry Potter movies, but I’ve never read the books and I’m told, as usual with book to film adaptations, that the book is better.









CAPTAIN AMERICA: THE FIRST AVENGER   (July 22nd)

Out of all the big budget films this summer, Captain America is my most anticipated.  I think everything about the movie looks amazing.  The costume, the Red Skull, the 1940s setting, the shield, I could go on.  I think Joe Johnston could really knock this out of the park and Chris Evans is really an ideal choice to play Steve Rogers.  I can’t believe we are getting a Captain America movie that doesn’t look cheesy and instead looks badass!  Joss Whedon, who is writing & directing the upcoming The Avengers did  some touch ups on the script, so that is also something to be excited about!



ANOTHER EARTH   (July 22nd – Limited)



COWBOYS & ALIENS   (July 29th)

Jon Favreau is a director that really gets and respects his audience.  He has done some exceptional work in the past and showed that with Iron Man he really knows how to craft a character oriented action film.  I have no doubt we are in for an entertaining movie and I think the mix of the western and an alien invasion genres will make for a pretty interesting combination.  The cast looks pretty good on this one as well.







RISE OF THE PLANET OF THE APES   (Aug. 5th)

At first this film seemed like it may just be a cash-in job from a studio that wanted to milk more money out of a franchise, but everything I’ve seen and heard about the film makes me think otherwise.  I’ve heard it’s actually more drama than it is apes running amok, plus Andy Serkis, who is playing Caesar via mocap, says that they really made a great story and I respect that guy.







DON’T BE AFRAID OF THE DARK   (Aug. 12th)

This film directed by Troy Nixey and co-written by Guillermo del Toro could very well be my second most anticipated film of the summer.  The buzz around this is that it is truly scary, in fact, it received an R rating, not for gore or sex or anything graphic, but purely because of how scary it is.  That’s intriguing enough but really the draw for me is del Toro’s involvement as I have tremendous respect for his horror work.







30 MINUTES OR LESS   (Aug. 12th)



FRIGHT NIGHT   (Aug. 19th)

I know, this poster is for the original, but there doesn’t seem to be much out there in terms of promotional material for this remake yet.  I love the original and have a feeling the remake doesn’t have a chance of improving the original.  But it could be a nice companion piece to it.  Plus Marti Noxon is writing it and everyone seems to really want to honor the original.  Guess we will see how it turns out.

So there you have it.  My list of movies I’m looking forward to this summer.  I did leave out a few big releases, mainly because I don’t really care about them.  But to be fair, I shall list them:

  • Pirates of the Caribbean 4   (May 20th)
  • Transformers:  Dark of the Moon   (July 1st)
  • Conan the Barbarian   (Aug. 19th)
  • Final Destination 5   (Aug. 26th)

I will more than likely see those as well, except for Pirates.  Transformers is a movie that should be experienced in the theater.  I am curious about Conan, even though everything so far I’ve seen for it makes me think it’s gonna be a stinker.  And who knew there was a Final Destination 5?  Had no idea that was coming out/existed and I really don’t care.

One thought on “Summer Movie Preview!

  1. Nice! I liked the review. Definitely want to see Woody Allen’s movie. Like you, del Toro is my 2nd pic also, followed by Rise of the Planet of the Apes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

